The PhotoYoda

JadedSnapper is asking his old tutor for some advice

JadedSnapper: PhotoYoda, How can I become a better photographer, like TalentedPhotographer?

PhotoYoda:

JS: Erm?

PhotoYoda: Fruitbats!

JS: What?

PhotoYoda: Fruitbats [nods to himself]

JS: So, you’re saying I should do some nature photography?

PhotoYoda: [furrows brow and says to himself]… Fruitbats

JS: No? You see I’m jealous of TalentedPhotographer, he just seems so much more successful than me, the third best photographer on the EveningSnooze. I just look at his pictures and every time, I just think, why can’t I do a picture like that?

PhotoYoda: 1-0!

JS: Right… 1-0?

PhotoYoda: 1-0 [says emphatically]

JS: I mean I spend all the hours doing this job but don’t seem to be getting anywhere, whereas he’s getting all the gongs, the fame…

PhotoYoda: Yes but how much of that is actually working?

JS: You speak?

PhotoYoda: If only to bamboozle you further…

JS: Oh, what do you mean by that?

PhotoYoda: How much of your working is actually working?

JS: Well, I spend plenty of time working, on school fetes, the occasional celebrity, some crime stuff…

PhotoYoda: [shakes head] 1-0!

JS: Back to phrases is it?

PhotoYoda: [points to head] 1-0! You’re not listening!

JS: [getting frustrated] You know, you never actually taught me anything!

PhotoYoda: You plonkersaurus! I never taught him anything either

JS: Well yes…

PhotoYoda: Have you got a business card?

JS: It’s at the printers

PhotoYoda: Do you enter awards?

JS: Oh, I didn’t have the time

PhotoYoda: Do you take a picture for yourself at each job? You know, a good one that stretches you a bit?

JS: Well I don’t really see the point

PhotoYoda: So you work at a paper that pumps out several thousand copies a day, has an internet presence, is syndicated, is a massive platform for your work and you ‘don’t see the point’? And you don’t even have a business card?

JS: Erm, yes

PhotoYoda: And what happened at BigCrimeScene?

JS: Well I went home after I’d done my time

PhotoYoda: And what did the rapscallian TalentedPhotographer do?

JS: Erm, stay all the hours and got the InternationallyFamousPicture..

PhotoYoda: 1-0! That’s the 1-0 my little possum!

JS: I don’t even know what a possum is!

PhotoYoda: It’s the 1-0!

JS: What? I thought it was a marsupial..

PhotoYoda: No no no my little fruitbat! The 1-0 is in your mind, not in your pictures!

JS: In my mind?

PhotoYoda: Do you like taking pictures?

JS: Erm, yes, I suppose

PhotoYoda: Then why all the excuses! I want pictures not excuses!

JS: Yeah but the EveningSnooze doesn’t want good pictures..

PhotoYoda: But you’ve just said you don’t take good pictures! You don’t even bother any more!

JS: So what do you suggest?

PhotoYoda: Fruitbats my dear boy, fruitbats

About jadedsnapper

Reinforcing the stereotype that local press photographers are more miserable than the people they photograph
This entry was posted in PhotoYoda, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The PhotoYoda

  1. jadedsnapper says:

    And as if by magic, WebGuru has made a comment:

    Hey why don’t you do my web based press photography course? I’ve never worked as a photographer so that’s why I’m qualified to train you. Basically it’s just like BigPhotoSharingSite except you pay me to put ‘nice capture’ underneath your picture! And what? You don’t have a camera? Well have I got news for you! On my course a ‘good’ camera phone is all you need to enrol, and you’ll get a certificate that I’ve specially printed out with a big fat MickeyMouse sticker on it.

  2. beaulurks says:

    It’s where I’ve been going wrong, curse you PhotoVader (shakes fist)

  3. Mark says:

    My “favourite” piece of advice at the moment is “It’s not about your camera/kit/gear, it’s about your passion/vision/philosophy…..” – normally dispensed by a WebGuru who shoots with a D3s that he got for free. Annoys the life out of me.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention The PhotoYoda | Jadedsnapper's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

